I love the site 750words.com!

This is part of my efforts in working “The Artist’s Way.” I can’t handwrite three pages each morning. This is 2015; that’s not for me. It was OK in the 1990s, before everyone had a computer in every room and in their palm. Why buy paper or notebook to write something that’s only going to burn through my shredder immediately? Why kill trees over that?

To do the morning pages, I began trying to type them out. But what is the conversion there? What does three pages longhand turn into typed? I started Googling and discovered 750words.com immediately. It had popped up in my Facebook feed recently. It had been mentioned in one of those useless listicles that are so plentiful on the Internet today. It was useless because it didn’t sell me on what 750words.com is really meant to do!

I still found it anyway. Here’s a sweet infographic on why I like it:

Screen Shot 2015-02-12 at 9.22.03 AM

Look at me bang out my daily quota of brain drain in just eleven minutes without distractions at a whopping 70 words per minute. Usually I type around 50 words per minute when I do this. Today, my brain drain included about 17 different ideas I am passionate about for the future of my career. It’s easy to understand how I could drain so much of my brain so quickly. I’m passionate about moving forward into a better and more fulfilling future as I leave my past behind.

But the 750words.com experience gets better!

Screen Shot 2015-02-12 at 9.22.33 AM

The site gives you analysis of what your 750 words are about. I love that! I am highly analytical, probably to my detriment sometimes. Since I am aiming to live always in today and only in today, I am happy when it shows I am in “The Present.” For most of the last week, it has shot back to me that I was uncertain, so seeing that I am suddenly “certain” in my brain drain is pretty gratifying.

I love that I have this website as a trusty, daily companion to my TAW work. This is an exciting time in my life as I rebuild from a 16-year career in radio. I have the chance to return to my writing projects as well as my Reiki business. I have soul searching to do and this project is really helping so far. Even if you don’t do “The Artist’s Way” book or course, sign up to do 750words.com each day. I am finding it is helping me get past the censor. A few smart sentences have even emerged so far. The point is that it’s brain drain. The point is that I show up at my keyboard daily. This is why I was surprised when something clear and useful emerged yesterday. It may make it into a novel. Or not. The point is I am doing this. That’s all that matters!

Leave a Reply

